Teresa Explains Love

Today, Teresa decided to tell me about her love life.

“I’m in love with Sam. Not the one I have play dates with, a different one in my class.”
”You’re in love with him?”

“Yes. And I have a crush on him because his cheeks are really red. He’s a cutie.”

“What does it mean when you love someone?”

“You’re boyfriend and girlfriend?”

“Are you girlfriend with that boy?”

“Sam I don’t know, but Cody yes.”

“You are Cody’s girlfriend?!”

“Yes, well, whenever I say I want to marry Sam at lunch, Cody’s like *pouty face* and I say alright, I’ll marry Cody and he’s like *dopey smiley face.* cause I don’t know who I want to marry!!”

“Is there a difference between loving someone and being in love?”

“When you first meet them and when um…when like you’re in love, it’s like when you meet them, it’s like when you really really like them and you feel like you want to marry them. That’s when you love. And when you’re in love, both of y’all, and when you are really boyfriend and girlfriend, then you can kiss. And Cody really wants to marry me. He said it’s my decision and I said okay.”

“Do you want to marry him?”

“I don’t know if I was trying to trick him or not.”

“So what is in love?”

“You’re about to get married.”

We come to the conclusion that love is just one person feels it, in love is when both people feel it.

Teresa is six.

Leave a Reply

