Short and Sweeter Than Honey

I’ve been going through the REAP plan via The Austin Stone (where I work and am a church partner) this year. I have never been given the faithfulness of devos/quiet times/ just reading the Bible as I have these past eight months, and since Jan 1 in particular. It helps to have accountability, so the girl I disciple and I check in once a week and talk, among other things, about what we’ve learned through that week.

Everyday, (with few exceptions that, let me encourage you, may well happen but should never discourage you) I spend time reading from each of four sections of the Bible: Psalms and Wisdom Literature, Pentateuch and History of Israel, Chronicles and Prophets, and Gospels and Epistles.

Today’s reading includes Psalm 117, which is:

Praise the Lord, all nations!
Extol him, all peoples!
For great is his steadfast love toward us,
and the faithfulness of the Lord endures forever.
Praise the Lord!

If that seems kind of short for an entire chapter of the Bible, it’s because it is. Psalm 117 is, in fact, the shortest chapter of the Bible. Here are some more fun facts related to that.

In any case, I just enjoy that three times, the chapter says in command form to Praise the Lord, and it gives two reasons:

  • great is his steadfast love toward us
  • his faithfulness endures forever.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

