How Bruce Might get his Groove Back

03/27 – Get in accident. Call the person I share a policy with. Am told, “It’s okay! We’ll just call the insurance, we’ve got full coverage!”

03/29- Call insurance. Am told my policy was canceled by other policy holder in Jan. Call other policy holder, who staes, “Yeah, don’t you remember? I told you I canceled it. Guess you should get some insurance.” (same person) I call around and buy a new policy that afternoon.

04/15 Inestigator comes to my house. Tells me I’m under investigation for a hit and run. Also, the other car had someone go to the hospital. (Friend suggests maybe they were knitting when I hit them. Only logical explanation.)

04/23 Visit lawyer who advises me on how to write my statement for the invetigator and other car’s insurance, and that he will help me negotiate a payment plan to handle the damages, since I’ll be paying out of pocket. He is also puzzled, based on looking at Bruce, as to why anyone would go to the hospital. (Suggests maybe they were putting on eyeliner?) He does this pro bono and with a smile on his face. (Angels everywhere.)

04/28 Pray “God, it’s good for me to be afflicted, and I exxult in tribulations, but I don’t know how to pay for this. Can you make it all go away? You can, you’re mighty. Please make it all go away. And if not, I still love you. Amen.”

04/30 Get a call from other car’s insurance.  Am asked if I have filed with my insurace. Say that no, I’ll be paying out of pocket, I didn’t have insurace.

“Maritza, are you sure?”
“Yes ma’am, it’s a long story but I’m sure.”
“Let me call you right back.”

5 minutes?

“Maritza, call this number and ask this person about this policy.”

Call number, ask person about policy.

“Now, don’t let me say anything wrong…but what do you think happened?”
“My policy was canceled on Jan 12.”
“Well…I’m looking at a screen that says it didn’t start until Jan 15th, and payments have been drafted from an account every month…”

Call insurace agent (above was just adjuster, not agent)

“I need to know about my policy.”
“It was canceled Jan 12.”
“Yeah, I’ve heard that rumor. But can you check under this number?”
::rustle, hustle, gasp::
“I’m so sorry! I’m so so sorry! I don’t know how this happened. Our personal website doesn’t have it, but the company’s does. I don’t know how that is.”
“Ma’am, I’m not sure if you have any religious beliefs, but I do. And this happened because God is sovereign and He wanted me to believe that I didn’t have insuarnce. He wanted to give me a chance to trust him.”
“…Okay.”
“And beside, it’s okay, because through the investigation the police found out I have insurance.”
“Investigation?”
“The other car didn’t follow me, so they thought it was a hit and run.”
“OH MY GOSH IM SO SORRY! I would be freaking out.”
“No it’s okay! God wanted to show me that I don’t need to freak out, that he’s in control and will take care of me.”
“…Okay.”

Psalm 119: 68-69 and 71-72

67 Before I was afflicted I went astray,
       but now I obey your word. 
 68 You are good, and what you do is good;
       teach me your decrees.

 71 It was good for me to be afflicted
       so that I might learn your decrees.
 72 The law from your mouth is more precious to me
       than thousands of pieces of silver and gold. (or thousands of dollars in insurance coverage)

 

I can’t explain in logic, and it doesn’t make sense. The details don’t come together like you think they should. But they come together like God wanted them to. They come together for God’s glory and my good.

One thought on “How Bruce Might get his Groove Back

  1. OMGosh!! This is awesome! I’m so glad everything is working out for you… what an incredible story of the power of faith and trusting. :) <3

Leave a Reply

