Wish List

I’ve heard people compare praying to playing a slot machine. You know what you want so you pull the lever and hope it comes up.

That’s pretty much nothing like what I consider prayer to be. If anything, i err just as much but on the other side. I know that God is in charge and he’ll always protect me and take care of me, so I often neglect to even tell him what I want. He KNOWS what I want, he knows everything about me, far more than I, but one of the precious gifts of prayer is that it’s time you get to spend just being intimately acquainted with the creator of the universe, who just so happens to be crazy about you.

It may be that you didn’t have this kind of childhood, but most of us can at least imagine a world in which we would crawl into the laps of loved ones and croon or wish lists. I’ve had the experience of my friend’s and relative’s kids doing the same to me.

“Miss Ritz, you know what I REALLY want?”
“No, baby, what do you want?”
“The new Wimpy Kid book. They’re so funny.”

And though I knew she liked it, in fact though I had planned to purchase it, my delight was increased even more in getting it for her afterward. How much more so to see her face when it was received? She told me what she wanted for three primary reasons:

  1. she wanted it. it was important to her in that sense.
  2. she believed i had the power to make her request a reality and
  3. she believed i cared enough to do so, because i love her.

The same is largely true of the Father who made us and loves us and blesses us with every gift and spiritual blessing according to the richness of his grace (richer than a freebirds brownie)! Phil 4:6 -7 says

Be anxious for nothing but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hears and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

So… since there’s so darn much going on in my life, I decided to publish a list of the bold requests I am asking my good and perfect father to provide..

  • a computer for work and grad school. I currently work completely off a public computer at the offices.
  • 4 new tires. Mine are about to die a scary death and new ones will, at the cheapest I’ve found, be $400.
  • The money to get Bruce fixed. ($1000 deductible)
  • A tear down leader for Kidstuff sunday afternoons.
  • A Kidstuff skit writing team
  • replacements for the production members leaving this summer. (with those things, I will be fully transitioned from Production intern to childcare and special events intern)
  • a smooth move and fun living environment as I move to the Far West area to live with my soul twin, S.

And He will answer my prayers in perfect timing and with the answer that is best for me. But part of the fun is just asking, just trusting, just spending some time with him.  I can’t wait to let you know how he provides. Knowing my life, it’ll be a bunch of really fun stories. :)

Leave a Reply

