You’re Not That Chubby (Part Four)

Yes, I meant to say that.

Part three is written and scheduled to post next Monday, but part four is coming now.  I would like to start by quoting the book of  Ezekiel (and how many mornings do you get to hear that?). Text in black is from the Bible. Text in blue is what I thought while reading it this morning.

Every time I read the Bible it's JUST like this. Perfect lighting and all.

“Then The Spirit lifted me up, and I heard a great rumbling sound behind me (Did the prophet eat a burrito?) “Blessed be the glory of the Lord in his place.” (Oh mercy. I’m a heretic.)It was the sound of the wings of the living creatures as they touched one another, and the sound of the wheels beside them, and the sound of a great earthquake.(I mean it only stands to reason that a creature with FOUR faces has at least one digestive track – maybe the rumbling wasn’t JUST their wings… ya know what I’m saying?) The Spirit lifted me up and took me away, and I went in bitterness in the heat of my spirit, (why is he bitter, where did that come from? Sometimes I’m bitter about where God takes me.)the hand of the Lord being strong upon me. And I came to the exiles at Tel-abib, who were dwelling by the Chebar canal, and I sat where they were dwelling. And I sat there overwhelmed (THIS I get. Sometimes when The Lord moves us (even metaphorically) the best I can do is to set there, overwhelmed) among them seven days.”

Now, what on earth do some earth rumbling and a pissy prophet have to do with me (not) being (that) chubby?

I’ll tell you! (Though I’m in a saucy mood, and would think it funnier to NOT tell you) FEELINGS.

How many of us feel like we are walking Feelings Bingo cards?

Feelings are strange things. They can be wonderful friends, and the most powerful adversaries. As the man who taught me how to love (GMG, another post for another day) puts it “Our feelings need to be under the authority of TRUTH.” And I know the truth. The truth(found in the Bible, communicated by the Spirit) is I am lovely because God loves me. And I am lovely when I love. And I am acting and showing ugliness when I get caught up in the meaningless things of this world. NOT when I weigh more than I thought I did, but eat and live healthily. What I may feel, as residual effects of the sin nature, the fall, and too much pop culture- all of that might bring me to a point of weeping and gnashing of teeth- much like my friend Ezekiel above.

But the truth restores me. Brings back my reason. Brings my joy. Gives me light. Gives me the freedom and even the command to ENJOY who God has made me to be.

(Despite the great rumblings behind me) ;)

Leave a Reply

