Delusions- Again

—Oh hey. It’s 10:10:10 on 10/10/10. That’s fun. —-

I say again because I’m pretty sure I’ve used “delusions” as a title before which is…less than encouraging.

I remember when I learned what “delusion” meant. I was watching Star Wars Episode VI (because Uncle PC and Uncle Billy demanded that my education be more extensive) when I was about 8 and in the scene just after Leia saves him from the freezy-thing,  Han gets the news that Luke is a jedi. He tells Chuy, “A Jedi Knight? Jeez, I’m out of it for a little while, everyone gets delusions of grandeur!”

 

Is carbonite really capable of this?

 

 

And 8 year old me was not about to invest 3 hours of her life (even then I had trouble being still for THAT long) if I didn’t know what was going on. So I asked. “What does delusions of grandeur mean?”

I’m sure my uncles said something funny because that’s what they do, but mama told me, “It means when you think something, like that you’re very important, but you really aren’t.”

 

Ahhh. She went on to explain what each part of the phrase meant.

 

So anyway, delusions. I have two, major, persistent delusions that aren’t specifically spiritually related and so I feel comfortable flippantly blogging about them.  Well, one of them right now.

 

I have the distinct impression, maybe half-hope half-idiocy, that I don’t get noticed. That in a room full of people, I blend in.  And that no one really pays attention to what I say or do.  So when people DO notice me, it always (unless I’ve noticed them noticing me, at which point i’m totally creeped out) surprises me.  Typified by an exchange I had with a fellow classmate two weeks ago.

“I like your headband.”
“Oh, thanks! It’s new. I’m trying it out.”
“Oh yeah, it’s great. I always love your headgear. That hat last week was great.”
“Thanks for noticing. I uhm…. I have this delusion that I fly under the radar.”

“Yeah… That’s crap.”

Leave a Reply

