I Want to Believe

This week’s sermon as TASCC was about….it was ABOUT a lot of things, but one that stuck out most to me was the idea that Abraham didn’t always have perfect, persistent faith. It was hard for him to believe in something he was promised that he didn’t see. It’ll make more sense if you go listen to it.  I was in a particularly bratty mood (that’s how I see my sin sometimes. It’s ugly and annoying, but God isn’t JUST my King, He’s also my Daddy, and if need be He’ll tar my rear to get me in line) but thankfully last night, He didn’t tar me, He just asked,

“What do you value more? Your control and comfort, or my plan.”

Clearly, I value my comfort and control more. But I WANT to care more about His plan.  I want to believe.

 

the was the least offensive/insane/cornball image I could find for "believe"

 

I want to believe a lot of things.  Like that people mean what they say and kindness can be extended for no reason other than the sake of kindness.  Or that I am what God says I am and not what I’m afraid to be.  I want to believe that there is a better country coming, and that I get to be a part of it. And that right now, when jabs and punches are thrown, it’s because of hurt that lives in hearts, uninvited.

But like we learned again yesterday, sometimes it’s really hard to believe things when what you see is so opposite. Thankfully I serve a God who makes covenants and keeps them because it is who He is. And He reminds me, over and over, with His Word, and goodness, and love. And sometimes, His jokes. :)

5 thoughts on “I Want to Believe

    • of COURSE! You may ALWAYS share my posts. It’s the interweb, after all. ;) But just know that (as you can see by the other comment) sometimes in my brevity i communicate the opposite of what I am trying to say. ;) love you, and REALLY looking forward to the update. I’ve honestly been worried (sinful, I know) about you…. Will be praying for you so I can trust God that he’s taking care of you.

  1. I have been listening to this message and I see why you want to believe but still finding it difficult to. This message gave no reason for one to believe, it was discouraging. My dear the promises that God gave to the children of Israel is what we are surviving after. Abraham is the beginning of Faith but what we would called the goodies of faith started with the Children of Israel.

    First God gave them an instruction and He told their forefathers Jer 7 vs 23 But this thing commanded I them, saying, Obey my voice, and I will be your God, and ye shall be my people: and walk ye in all the ways that I have commanded you, that IT may be well unto you.

    Secondly in Deut 28 you see what Obedience and Disobedience give to us. Now we need to understand that walking in Faith is being obedient to Jesus Christ. Jesus told us in John 15 vs 7 If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you. This also goes with Isaiah 65 vs 17-25 please to read this.

    I can tell you this that God promises is true. Whatever He plan for your life and YOU start walking in obedience it will be unfolding before you. You will receive the JOY, HAPPINESS, PEACE etc everything that God said we will under the covenant of Jesus Christ. I am talking from Experience.

    Start believing my sister because the Plan that God as for you is there waiting, just for you to submit to Jesus Christ in obedience. When you submit to Jesus Christ all that you wrote Kindness etc you will understand and be very comfortable with what is happening. You see there is Godly Wisdom and there is Worldly Wisdom. When you have the Godly Wisdom then your eyes will be open to the realities of the Worldly Wisdom. You will also be able to differentiate between Godly teaching of the words and the worldly teaching of it. Hugs and blessings.

    • Thanks for the comment and encouragement, Kerri.

      I actually thought the sermon reminded us of plenty of reasons to believe. I left encouraged. Of course, I tend to jump around a lot in my blogs, so it’s not surprising that I might seem or have sounded discouraged. :)

      Thanks again. :)

Leave a Reply

