Done With My Graceless Heart

Do you listen to the lyrics of songs?

I do.

And then I analyze. OYE VEY do I analyze. I analyze why i analyze then I analyze why I use yiddish expressions when I haven’t even been to a temple since 2007 when the rabbi compared Jesus to Voldemort.

Ahem.

Anyway, I was listening to “Shake it Out” by Florence and the Machine and heard the following line:

I am done with my graceless heart
So tonight I’m gonna cut it out and then restart

No matter how you feel about the music, I find the words particularly thought-inducing.

What does it make you think? What lines to do find insightful/poignant/ thoughtful/ intriguing and from what songs?

Leave a Reply

