Free Range Chicks: Teenage Bullies Across Species

I’ve been all stalky-stalky on other blogs today and that’s when I remembered I should be all writey-writey over here.

 

Except I’m too hyper. Literally bouncing around the house to good music, trying to focus enough to get to the dang gym (you know some times you have to much energy you can’t actually get anything done).  Here’s a funny thing, though:

 

We finished the chicken coop last week and have transitioned my tweener chicks*  to the coop. I take the term “mother hen” to a new and exciting level by checking on them at midnight to make sure they’re warm and happy. And if they aren’t i pick them up and move them to the light-heated nesting boxes. Which requires me climbing into said coop. At midnight. I love these birds. But when I’m home during the day, I let them have free range of the entire back yard. Which is nothing to sneeze at.

055

057

This is their coop. It’s not the prettiest thing but it is very sturdy, they seem to like it, it gets the job done, and because I used mostly pilfered recycled materials, it all-told cost about $50 to make, compared to $200-700 for comparable sized, cuter versions online. I’m going to paint it and decorate it with silliness because that is who I am.

 

The transition to the coop freed up the cage, so the chicks and duckling  (named Simone, Ursula, Vixen, and Tiger) moved to the cage. They are funny little things to watch going here-and-there. We tied a ribbon to the top and put a ball in the cage so they can play. They mess with the ribbon (im not sure they like it….maybe it just bothers them and they are trying to pull it down?) and ignore the ball.

 

WHY WITH ALL THE PARENTHESIS?! WHY CAN I NOT BETTER ORDER MY THOUGHTS?

Did I ever tell you that I have had TWO separate employers suggest I take ritalin? 

Anyway, today I put the cage outside to see if the chicks would like to explore.

Which maybe is a Valle thing because Spencer told me he put Tiger (duckling) in the tub the other day to see if she’d like to be in some water. (“It FREAKED her out.” He says)

 

Well, they did not. But something else happened. Pteradactyl(the red-head) and Opossum (the blonde) who, in these pics, was investigating but not yet participating, got IN the cage to come eat some of the chicks’ food! Look closely at the chicks freaking out but not sure what to do as, from their perception, Ptera looks like her namesake.

054

 

Here, you can see the chicks start to rally. Tiger straightened and started waddling up to stand her ground against invaders.

053

Getting into position….051

 

They are so brave! They got together and squeezed Ptera out of the way so she couldn’t eat their food!

052

I know exactly three people will for sure care about this. And one won’t read the post. To everyone else, well, I have no apologies.

 

That’s okay. I just wanted to share because i find it legitimately entertaining (and so does Spencer) to literally watch my chickens. It’s relaxing. And I’m not so good at that, so I like sharing about my growth in the area.

*(that’s not a real term, they just are in their adolescent phase. I thought they were not quite there yet because they are so pretty and the chickens i’m used to were NOT that pretty. SO there you have it: inexact terms for chickens, by Ritz)

Leave a Reply

